What is ASEAN and the East Asian bloc

Here are good reads if you want to know more than what you were thought of in schools about the ASEAN and its various programs as well as the East Asia Summit or EAS (or also known as the ASEAN+3+3, or ASEAN + China, Japan, Korea + Australia, New Zealand, India)

2006 ASEAN Summit Logo


* The 10 Sampaguita flowers are the 10 ASEAN Member States (Timor Leste and Papua New Guinea are still Observers so they’re not counted yet)
* The 6 Leaves are the countries who support the ASEAN namely China, Japan, Korea, Australia, India, and New Zealand.

Follow up:

ASEAN is also taking the lead towards building a broader East Asian Community. ASEAN is planting deep roots of regional integration in Asia, the only continent where regional organization is still to blossom.

With a population of about 500 million, a total area of 4.5 million square kilometers, a combined gross domestic product of US$737 billion, and a total trade of US$ 720 billion, ASEAN stands at the center of great opportunities for broader regional growth, cooperation and integration.

Within ASEAN, work continues towards building a regional community.

Read more: Community and Opportunity in the ASEAN Region

Pages: 1 · 2 · 3

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *